Blog Categories

Small Business Spotlight: Amayzin RV Inspections & Services

Amayzin RV Services Logo 640x300

FOUNDING MEMBER SPOTLIGHT:

12 QUESTIONS WITH AMAYZIN RV INSPECTIONS & SERVICES

Back in mid 2017, I was working as a certified surgical technologist traveling to different hospitals in different states. That’s where our RV journey began. I was contracted at a hospital in Tyler, TX and my hubby Jason got certified as an RV inspector. Little did we know what kind of whirlwind we were about to endure.

By September 2017, Hurricane Irma caused widespread destruction in south Florida and the Florida Keys. Jason answered a fateful call that would ultimately change our lives forever. He went to help disaster survivors by inspecting travel trailers before they moved in. Fortunately, I was able to travel to the Keys weekly and help where needed. I realized pretty quickly that I wanted to become an RV inspector, too.

Gwynne and Bobby May of Amayzin RV

— Gwynne and Bobby May, Amayzin RV Inspections & Services, March 2020.

And so I did – in January 2018. It was during the RV inspector training class that I met Gwynne and Bobby May. We spent a few weeks – some of the coldest weeks on record – learning about performing RV inspections but more importantly, forming a friendship that will last a lifetime. Yes, Jason and I went from 90 degree weather, beaches outside the door and flip flops to temperatures around 9 degrees F with snow, ice and several layers of clothing on a daily basis.

But it was all worth it! Gwynne and Bobby are two of the most thoughtful people we’ve met. They work as a team – just like Jason and me – to bring their customers the most value. They are talented and trustworthy and I’m very proud to share a bit of their journey with you.

Small Business Spotlight:

Amayzin RV Inspections & Services

Glad to chat with you! First, tell us where we can find you online.

You can find us on My RV Resource at Amayzin RV Inspections & Services or on our website Amayzin.com. There you can find a bit more about us and the services we offer, as well as send us a request for an inspection and view your report (for Premier Level RV Inspections). You can also follow us on Facebook at AmayzinRV.

Tell us a little about your situation while running your RV business.

Our home base is Wichita Falls, Texas.

We will be hitting the road in September 2021 as nomad travelers / full-time traveling RVers. We look forward to traveling the highways and byways of our beautiful country, to discover the hidden gems.

We will still be available for RV inspections and RV training, to discover potentially hidden issues in RVs for our clients. The surprise of a hidden gem is wonderful. The surprise of a hidden issue in a new or new-to-you RV…not so much.

Do you live in an RV full-time?

We will move into our RV full time in mid-August 2021. We have a trip or two scheduled between now and then. We are also taking care of some much-needed maintenance for our new-to-us RV, along with making a few upgrades to make the RV our own.

What inspired you to start your own RV business?

Bobby grew up in a military family, criss-crossing the country in a class C with his parents and three siblings, traveling between duty stations or for summer vacation. By the time he was 18, he had been through 48 of the 50 states, Guam and the Philippines. About five years ago, we decided to downsize and move into full-time RV life. Bobby realized much had changed since his early days of traveling with his folks and wanted to know more about today’s RVs.

We found the RV Systems Training course sponsored by the Mobile RV Academy (now the NRVTA) and Bobby attended in May 2017. During the course, he was introduced to the NRVIA and becoming a Certified RV Inspector. And the rest, as they say, is history.

What RV services or RV products do you offer?

We offer Premier Level RV Inspections, which come with a detailed report, 360 degree photos and videos (as warranted). Fluid analysis testing – like a blood test for the mechanical system – is offered for motorized RVs, generators and tow vehicles. 

We also offer safety inspections and training for new RVers; neither of these options comes with a written report.

What is your background and how did you develop the skills to start your business?

Bobby spent 25 years in restaurant management and 10 years in financial management and planning. He has also always owned his own businesses. In the mid-1980s, he owned a balloon delivery business. In the 1990s and early 2000s, he owned a numismatic (coin) business, specializing in pennies.

Gwynne has a bachelor’s degree in management with a focus in human resources and organizational behavior, spending the early part of her career as a subject matter expert in the employee benefits department of a Fortune 50 company. After a few years, she realized that she had a desire and calling to do work that made a difference and mattered in the lives of others, so she returned to school and got a Masters of Divinity with a focus in pastoral care and counseling and spirituality. She is an ordained minister in a mainline Protestant denomination and has been in healthcare ministry for the past 16 years, with most of that time spent as a hospice chaplain. She has spent a lot of time with people who have regrets, who wish they had done more, seen more, traveled, spent more time with family, not waited until “later…” None of them have wished they spent more time working.

As stated above, we found the RV Systems Training course sponsored by Mobile RV Academy and Bobby attended in May 2017. During this course, he was introduced to the NRVIA and became Certified as a Level 1 NRVIA Inspector and RV Maintenance Tech for Campgrounds. Realizing he could use this knowledge to help other RVers better understand their rigs, he continued training and became an NRVIA Certified RV Inspector in January 2018. He is also an RVTI Certified Level 2 RV Technician.

Gwynne got her start in RV inspection training with the home study course, completing her Level 1 NRVIA Inspector certification in July 2018. In April 2019, she took both the Level 1 and Level 2 NRVIA Inspector training courses in person in Athens, Texas, becoming an NRVIA Certified RV Inspector in April 2019. She is also an RVTI Certified Level 2 RV Technician.

What has been your business’s proudest moment?

We have been honored to work with FEMA on two different occasions – after Hurricane Florence in North Carolina (2018/2019), and after the Almeda fire in Jackson County, Oregon (2020/2021). The work with FEMA is inspecting the travel trailers that FEMA provides for survivors to ensure the trailer is safe to live in, while their homes are being rebuilt. While we do not hope for any future disasters, we look forward to serving with FEMA again, should the opportunity present itself.

NRVIA Certified Inspector and NRVTA Certified Tech team onsite at FEMA inspection site – Jackson County, Oregon

— NRVIA Certified Inspector and NRVTA Certified Tech team onsite at FEMA inspection site – Jackson County, Oregon

What has been your biggest challenge?

Our biggest challenge was getting the business started, developing our web and social media presence and getting our name known within the community. Helping potential clients as well as dealerships understand the importance of having an RV inspection conducted by a trained, NRVIA Certified RV Inspector (or two!) was initially challenging too. As RV inspections become more prevalent, both buyers and sellers are coming to understand why it is important to hire an independent, third-party Certified RV Inspector.

Describe your typical work day.

We work together as an inspection team, so our work day together starts long before we arrive at the inspection site. Bobby usually tackles the exterior of the RV, with Gwynne handling the inspection of the interior components. We utilize mobile devices to enter our findings into the inspection software, including photos and videos. This helps make the report completion and delivery smoother, once we arrive back home after the inspection. Our goal is to deliver the report the same day as the inspection, which can make for a late night, if there are a significant number of issues to report on the RV’s condition and operation. 

We both answer the phone, answer questions and set inspection appointments. We are both well-versed in all aspects of our business.

Tell us something interesting/fun about your business.

Amayzin RV onsite Jackson County, OR – working with FEMA, inspecting travel trailers for safety for Almeda fire survivors

— Bobby & Gwynne May, Amayzin RV onsite Jackson County, OR – working with FEMA, inspecting travel trailers for safety for Almeda fire survivors

The “Amayzin” in our business name is a play on our last name – May – as well as the type of service we strive to provide to our customers. 

Not everyone can say that they work side-by-side with the love of their life either. We really enjoy working together, learning something new every day.

If you could go back to the beginning knowing what you know now, what would you have done differently?

Looking back, we would have had Gwynne come in as an inspector sooner. The RV inspection business was a part-time venture for us, as Gwynne was still working full-time in healthcare. When she was laid off due to the impact of COVID-19 on the agency she worked for, we had a business in place and were able to move immediately into full-time work as RV inspectors.

What’s your best advice for someone who wants to start his/her own RV business?

Our advice is to be patient with yourself. There is a lot to learn about the RV inspection business. The business needs to be nurtured and cared for. Most likely, you won’t have a full calendar in the first few weeks. Take care of the back office and support systems, so they will take care of you when you are busy with inspections.
Be curious. Seek out continuing education opportunities. The more you know, the better you will be as an inspector and advocate for your client.

Any other comments or advice you'd like to share?

Bobby & Gwynne May, Amayzin RV, performing their first RV inspection together as an NRVIA Certified Inspector team, Monument, CO

HAVE FUN!!

— Bobby & Gwynne May with Amayzin RV, performing their first RV inspection in July 2018 together as an NRVIA Certified Inspector team, Monument, CO.

Thanks Amayzin’! That’s great advice.

If you’re an RV service provider, feel free to sign up for a listing on My RV Resource – where we’re nurturing a community of RVers and RV-related small business owners.

If you’re an RVer, you can use our directory to find RV service providers all across the US (and even a few in Canada). Bonus points for recommending small businesses and sharing reviews!

Lisa Carletti

Lisa Carletti

Lisa and Jason are NRVIA certified Level 2 inspectors and RVDA/RVIA registered technicians who run My RV Inspection based in Tampa, FL. They also built My RV Resource which is a map based directory as a resource to help consumers find RV related services like RV inspections, RV repair shops and mobile technicians, RV towing and transport companies as well as RV storage lots.
  • TechnoRV
  • Motorhome Tires
  • Gas Stop
Interested in more resources?

Subscribe to our newsletter!

I am an:*

Tampa, FL

info@myrvresource.com

My RV Resource © 2020

Scroll to Top